NancysTravels

Follow my travels, cooking, running and adventures

My Favorite Souvenir

on August 14, 2011

At Travelbelles a new question is posed every month in a segment called Across The Cafe Table. This month’s question could have been asked with me in mind. ‘What’s my favorite souvenir’?

I’m a shopper. Online, retail stores, even yard sales…I can’t resist. So when I travel to a new destination I see it as a whole new shopping opportunity. I’ve graduated from the t-shirts announcing where in the world I bought it. I love acquiring items that I can use in my everyday life. When I wear my green loafers I’m brought right back to Boulevard Saint-Michel in Paris where I bought them.

The shoes, as much as I love them, are not my favorite souvenir. I got married about 5 years ago and took a perfect honeymoon vacation to Greece. Athens, Crete and Santorini were the spots we visited and I loved every one more than the last. While we were incredibly busy while there – we ran the Athens marathon with 15 of our friends – I managed to find time to do what I do best.

Amid the running, sightseeing of the ruins and moussaka I hit a couple of the local artisan markets. One afternoon in Crete I found what I was looking for. The perfect handbag. It’s big enough, but not too big. A gorgeous dark brown leather with some bold brushed gold hardware. It’s one-of-a-kind so I won’t run into anyone else with the same bag anywhere ever.

And it reminds me of Greece and my honeymoon.

6 responses to “My Favorite Souvenir

  1. Margo says:

    I love the idea of bring home things that you can use in your everyday life. Both those green shoes and purse are awesome!(and very cool about the marathon – so curious if and where else have you done them?)

    • Hi Margo! Thanks, there’s a very long list of what I’ve brought home…too long for one post – ha! As for the marathons…I’ve done at least one on all 7 continents – 24 in all so far. They are some of the most interesting and exciting experiences of my traveling life! BTW, the Athens marathon honeymoon was a condition of the marriage proposal and we were joined by about 15 of our running friends.

  2. Tuula says:

    How fun Nancy, both of our favorite souvenirs are from our honeymoons. Those green loafers aren’t bad either – great Paris find!

  3. I love shoes too! Last year I went nuts in Hoi An, Vietnam with all their custom shoe shops! Definitely a shoe lovers paradise!

Leave a Reply

