NancysTravels

Follow my travels, cooking, running and adventures

Newburyport Yankee Homecoming 2011

on August 8, 2011

Another year’s Yankee Homecoming Week in Newburyport has come and gone. For the most part the weather cooperated fully with the days being sunny and bright and the nights cool enough to be comfortable. I wasn’t able to attend every event during the week, but hit some of the highlights.

It was my first time at the BrewFest and it won’t be my last. Limiting ticket sales kept it from becoming too crowded and there was an impressive selection of brews from which to choose including many I’ll search out on a regular basis.

The road races always draw a big crowd and this year the weather was unseasonably cool, which worked out well for the runners. Instead of the usual 96 degrees and humid, it was around 75 degrees and pleasant. I wish I’d run the 10 mile this year instead of taking the year off!

I attended the bed race on Thursday evening for the first time. It’s a funny concept, but seems to work and all the entrants really get into the mood with costumes and decorated beds to roll down Federal St.

My favorite event of the week has to be the sidewalk sales. Yes, I’m a shopper and I just can’t pass up a bargain. And there were plenty to be had! Even when I told myself I was done I found yet another great deal. I’m happily married with no plans to do it again, but I was almost tempted to buy a $45 wedding dress just because.

The fireworks are of course spectacular every year. A lot of work goes into the planning and fundraising for this event and it’s appreciated by all.

The High Street Mile on Sunday morning is done so well. The smaller children – first the girls, then the boys – run first, then the teens followed by the adults. Everyone has their special race to run and doesn’t get lost in the shuffle. Never fails; the little kids run half the race looking behind them rather than in front.

Much thanks to all the volunteers and the Newburyport Police who make this week such a successful and safe event year after year.

Leave a Reply

