NancysTravels

Follow my travels, cooking, running and adventures

My Perfect Beach Day

on June 15, 2011

I’ve been fortunate enough to be able to travel to many places around the world and enjoy what these destinations have to offer. What this sometimes means though is that I neglect what is right under my nose. I live in a brilliant town on the coast of Massachusetts and hardly ever venture the 5 or so miles to the beach. I’ve been to beaches from Morocco to Thailand and everywhere in between, but can probably count on one hand the number of times I’ve taken a beach day at home. Well, this summer that’s going to change. Here’s how my day will go:

It will have to be a weekday; most likely a Friday. The loud and crowds on weekend days are off-putting. I’ll hop on my Piaggio scooter and head for the coast. My first choice for beaching is Salisbury Beach, mainly for the seaglass stalking. I’m a collector and according to my sources this beach is the place to go. A close second is Plum Island…I love the expanse of space free from buildings.

Swimsuit, coverup, hat and flip flops are de rigueur. Ditto for the sunscreen – my favorite is the Bobbi Brown spray that smells like coconut – SPF 15 of course. A big, soft beach towel comes in handy as does a small cooler with hydrating water, a panini sandwich and some green grapes.

Almost as essential is my MP3 player with both music and audiobooks. Reading material consists of fashion and tabloid magazines. Books are acceptable, but only if they’re of the chick-lit variety such as the Shopaholic, Gossip Girl or Twilight series. I don’t want to think too hard. A camera for any exceptional sights I don’t want to forget. Last on the list of must-have items is a beach bag fulfilling two purposes – a carry-all and a place to stash all the beach treasures I’m sure to gather.

Share

Leave a Reply

